Material For Exam

Recent Update

Monday, September 24, 2018

Daily Current Affairs, 24th September 2018

16:58 0

1) India Successfully Test Fires Prithvi Defence Vehicle
•India successfully conducted an interceptor missile test off the Odisha coast, achieving a major milestone in developing a two-layer Ballistic Missile Defence system. According to Defence sources, the interceptor was launched from Abdul Kalam Island of the Integrated Test Range (ITR). 

•This Prithvi Defence Vehicle (PDV) mission is for engaging the targets in theexo-atmosphere region at an altitude above 50 kilometres of the earth's atmosphere. Both the PDV interceptor and the target missile were engaged successfully.

2) PM Modi Inaugurated Sikkim's First Airport In Pakyong
•Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the Pakyong Airport in Sikkim on September 24, nine years after the foundation stone was laid. The airport is the hilly state's first and only airport. Currently, the nearest airport for the people of Sikkim is 124 kilometre (km) away in Bagdogra, West Bengal.

•The airport is spread over 201 acres. The foundation stone for the greenfield airport was laid in Pakyong in 2009, which is around 33 km from Gangtok,  the state capital. The airport is located around 60 km from the Indo-China border. It is constructed by the Airports Authority of India (AAI). The project cost Rs 553 crore.

3) AP, Odisha & MP Bag Award Under Amrut
•Andhra Pradesh has topped the charts among States in terms of “Ease of Living Index” rankings launched by the Ministry of Housing and Urban Affairs (MoHUA).  It was followed by Odisha and Madhya Pradesh.  

•The three States were awarded the three best performing States under Atal Mission for Rejuvenation and Urban Transformation (AMRUT) at the National Dissemination Workshop on Ease of Living Index, 2018.

4) BRICS Bank Approves $525-Mn Loan For Infra Projects In MP
•The BRICS' New Development Bank has approved a $525-million loan for infrastructure projects in India. The loan will be used by the Indian government for on-lending to the Madhya Pradesh government for rehabilitating major district roads with a total length of about 2,000 km. The loan aims to improve connectivity of the rural interior with the national and state highways.

5) Ibrahim Mohamed Solih Won Presidential Election In Maldives
•Opposition leader Ibrahim Mohamed Solih won the Maldives' presidential election, a surprise defeat for President Abdulla Yameen. Results released by the Elections Commission showed Solih had secured 58.3% of the popular vote.

•The poll is being closely watched by regional rivals India and China, who are jostling to influence Indian Ocean nations. The European Union and the United States, meanwhile, have threatened sanctions if the vote is not free and fair.

6) BSNL Signs Deal With SoftBank, NTT To Roll Out 5G In India
•State-run telecom firm BSNL has inked a pact with Japan’s Softbank and NTT Communications to roll out 5G and internet of things (IoT) technology in India. BSNL will look at collaborating with Softbank for its satellite constellation which will have around 900 satellites.

•3G was launched in India after seven years the technology was available in other foreign markets and 4G services after four years’ lag but according to BSNL CMD Anupam Shrivastava 5G will be launched in India in 2020 as soon the standards are freezed by ITU.

Read More

The HINDU Notes – 24th September 2018

13:22 0

📰 PM Modi launches Ayushman Bharat healthcare scheme

Read More



Sunday, September 23, 2018

Download Chronicle IAS Academy Notes

Daily Current Affairs, 23rd September 2018

16:26 0

1) PM Modi launches world’s largest healthcare scheme
•Prime Minister Narendra Modi launched Ayushman Bharat - Pradhan Mantri Jan Aarogya Yojana from Ranchi in Jharkhand today. Under this scheme, over 10 crore families will be provided health assurance worth five lakh rupees each, every year. 

•This is the world’s largest government-funded healthcare program targeting more than 50 crore beneficiaries. The scheme will provide cashless and paperless access to services for the beneficiary at the point of service.

•Speaking on this occasion, Union Health Minister J P Nadda said, it is a historic moment as Pradhan Mantri Jan Aarogya Yojana is going to bring a fundamental change in healthcare in the country. 

2) PM Modi Inaugurates New Airport In Odisha's Jharsuguda
•Prime Minister Narendra Modi has inaugurated a new airport at Jharsuguda, which will attract investors to the mineral-rich area.

•The Jharsuguda Airport has been developed by the Airports Authority of India in collaboration with Odisha government at an estimated cost of Rs 210 crore, with Rs 75 crore contribution from the state. The airport has been developed under the Centre's UDAN scheme. 

3) Israel, India to commemorate Centenary of the Battle of Haifa today
•Centenary celebrations to commemorate hundred years of liberation of Haifa in Israel by the Indian troops in 1918 culminates with a grand function in New Delhi today. The Battle of Haifa is being commemorated in Israel, Delhi and Jaipur.

•The Indian Army commemorates September 23 every year as Haifa Day to pay its respects to the two brave Indian Cavalry Regiments, Mysore and Jodhpur Lancers, that helped liberate the city following a dashing cavalry action by the 15th Imperial Service Cavalry Brigade.

•Taking part in the centenary celebrations to commemorate Haifa Day in Jaipur yesterday, Chief of Army Staff General Vipin Rawat said that Indian Army is capable to deal with any situation. Interacting with Media Persons after the programme, Mr Rawat said that our government’s policy is quite clear.

4) GoM meeting on GST Network ends
•The new simplified GST returns form will roll out in another four to six months for the benefit of dealers paying GST. 

•Speaking to media persons after the 10th review meeting of Group of Ministers (GoM) on GST Network in Bengaluru today, the Bihar Deputy Chief Minister and Head of GoM,  Sushil Kumar Modi, informed that Infosys is asked to design the new forms on the lines of the recommendation made by GST Council. 

•This will further simplify filing of returns in GST network. 

•He also informed that 18 companies are identified to develop common accounting software, especially for the small taxpayers. 

5) Fitch Raises India Growth Forecast To 7.8% This Fiscal
•Global research agency Fitch has raised India’s growth forecast for the current fiscal to 7.8 per cent from the earlier 7.4 per cent. However, forecast for the next two fiscal, 2019-20 and 2020-21, have been shaved by 20 basis points (100 basis points means 1 per cent) to 7.3 per cent.

•Fitch’s latest projection for the current fiscal is higher than what is estimated by the Reserve Bank of India and even the Government. While the RBI’s estimate is 7.4 per cent, the Government feels that it could be 7.5 per cent. However, the International Monetary Fund (IMF) cut its projection to 7.3 per cent from 7.4 per cent. India Ratings too lowered its growth projection by 20 bps to 7.2 per cent.

Read More

The HINDU Notes – 23rd September 2018

11:29 0

📰 H-1B spouse work permits to end, says Trump administration

Read More

Monthly Mainstorming - August 2018 in Pdf

08:49 0

Click Here to Download Monthly Mainstorming - August 2018 in Pdf
Click Here to Like our Facebook page for latest updates and free ebooks

Read More

UPSC Revised Calendar 2018 in PDF

05:49 0

Click Here to Download UPSC Revised Calendar 2018 in PDF

Sharing is Caring

Read More