Daily Current Affairs, 06th January 2020 - VISION

Material For Exam

Recent Update

Monday, January 06, 2020

Daily Current Affairs, 06th January 2020

1) Journalists’ Day celebrated on 6th January in Maharashtra
•Journalists’ Day is being celebrated on 6th of January every year in the state of Maharashtra. The day is celebrated in the memory of late thespian journalist Balshashtri Jambhekar. Balshastri Jambhekar, is also known as ‘The Father of Marathi Journalism’, for his efforts in starting journalism in Marathi language.

2) India gives $75 million LoC to Cuba for solar parks
•India has extended a line of credit (LoC) of USD 75 million (over Rs 500 crore) to Cuba. The line of credit is being provided to finance solar parks in Cuba. The line of credit is as per agreement signed between Export-Import Bank of India (Exim Bank) and Banco Exterior De Cuba for installation of 75 MW Photovoltaic Solar Parks in the Republic of Cuba. Banco Exterior De Cuba is a nominated agency of the Government of Cuba.

3) UN declares Malala Yousafzai ‘Most Famous Teenager of The Decade’
•The United Nations has declared Pakistani education activist and Nobel laureate Malala Yousafzai as “Most Famous Teenager of The Decade”. The revelation has been made in its ‘Decade in Review’ report. Malala is working towards children’s rights ever since she was a teenager. In recognition of her efforts, she was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014 and also become the yougest recipient of the award.

4) H.K. Joshi appointed as CMD of Shipping Corporation of India
•Shipping Corporation of India has appointed Harjeet Kaur Joshi as the new Chairperson & Managing Director of the company. She will also hold the additional charge of the post of Director (Finance) of the company for a period of 3 months. She is a Fellow Member of The Institute of Cost Accountants of India.

5) AIIMS’ Prof Suresh Chandra Sharma as first chief of NMC

•The chief of Delhi AIIMS’ ENT head-neck surgery department, Professor Suresh Chandra Sharma, was appointed the chairman of National Medical Commission. The Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has approved the appointment of Sharma for a period of three years or till the age of 70 years.

•Rakesh Kumar Vats, the secretary-general in the board of governors of the Medical Council of India (MCI), has been appointed as the secretary of the Commission for the similar term.

6) Aayushi Dholakia becomes Miss Teen International 2019
•Aayushi Dholakia has bagged the title of Miss Teen International 2019. She also bagged the titles of Best in National Costume Award and Best in Speech Award. Girls from 22 countries participated in the event to win the coveted title. Yessenia Garcia from Paraguay and Anicia Gaothusi from Botswana became the First and second Runners-Up respectively. Miss Teen International is the world’s oldest running teen pageant.

•Thu Phan from Vietnam was adjudged Miss Teen Asia, Maria Luisa Piras from Italy bagged the title of Miss Teen Europe, Anicia Gaothusi from Botswana won Miss Teen Africa and Alessandra Santos from Brazil became Miss Teen America at the event.

7) Indian girl Sucheta Satish wins Global Child Prodigy Award 2020
•A 13-year-old Dubai-based Indian girl Sucheta Satish has won the 100 Global Child Prodigy Award in Delhi. She was awarded for singing in most languages during one concert and the longest live singing concert by a child.

•Global Child Prodigy Award is a platform to showcase the talent of children in dance, music, art, writing, acting, modelling, science, sports etc. The award is supported by Dr APJ Abdul Kalam International Foundation and Oscar Award-winning music producer AR Rahman among others.

8) K. Srikkanth & Anjum Chopra to get CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award
•Krishnamachari Srikkanth & Anjum Chopra will be conferred with the CK Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award. Krishnamachari Srikkanth will be the recipient of 2019’s prestigious CK Nayudu Lifetime Award. Former India women’s captain Anjum Chopra is the co-recipient of the lifetime achievement award for the year 2019. Srikkanth and Anjum will be conferred with the Lifetime Achievement award by Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for their contributions to Indian cricket.

No comments:

Post a Comment